©2019 by Watchword. Proudly created with Wix.com

Oct 23

Panzers in the Update Kit

4 comments

Well, I hope it's okay to post here ... but I'm looking at the kit to playtest Barbarossa and it really got me confused. 

 

In the Axis Change Box you'll see a bunch of Pz Armies, the 14-6 units, and the 12-6 and 10-6 units!  But there are no Panzer Army units in the Set Up so why are these 12-6 Corps are in the change box? How do I "access" them? (Every 12-6 is already on the map in the "set up" mat.)

 

Additionally, in July 1941, I can get another 12-6 reinforcement, which would allow me to theoretically make 4 Pz armies (with the now eight 12-6 Pz Corps on the map) ... which COULD subsequently be broken down into four 14-6 and 10-6 units each.  Well, there are four 14-6 units (that's okay), but only two 10-6 units in the change box!!! So I can only break down two Pz Armies. So I can never use those two final 14-6 units.

 

Maybe someone did the math wrong, and the 10-6 units on the map should be paired on the map with 14-6 units??????

 

Thanks.

 

 

 

 

Maybe someone did the math wrong, and the 10-6 units on the map should be paired on the map with 14-6 units??????

Yes, they can. One of each = a Panzer Army.

 

Doc Brian,

 

This is a good place for Update issues. There are more 12-6's because three Pz Corps are light (10-6) in June, '41, but may be later Upgraded to 12-6's. In Jan '43, three Pz Corps can be freely Upgraded: 10-6's to 12-6's and/or 12-6's to 14-6's. There is a way to get four Heavies in '41: Break down two 10-6's into Divs., but it will be difficult to break down 12-6's after this, due to a shortage of Motorized Divs. Heavies though can Break down into three Pz Divs each, if available. You can make any changes according to what is present in the Change Box. BTW, only one White Bolt can be applied to a Ground Attack, so the Heavies (14-6's) don't benefit from Tank Aces--a rule I missed at first.

Oct 24

Thanks Dave ... that's what I couldn't see (i.e., the upgrade).!!! :-)

 

Now that I look at that, in January '43 the image on the mat says "Upgrade 4 Corps." For clarification, would that be a TOTAL of 4 Corps, or would that be upgrade four 10-6s AND four 12-6s? The image doesn't say "a total of 4 Corps." So I just would like it clarified. Thanks

 

Now that I look at that, in January '43 the image on the mat says "Upgrade 4 Corps." For clarification, would that be a TOTAL of 4 Corps, or would that be upgrade four 10-6s AND four 12-6s? The image doesn't say "a total of 4 Corps." So I just would like it clarified. Thanks

 

Further research puts 3 of those in the East and one in the West/South, so as I work on the cards for the new update date, there will only be 3 upgrades, not 4. And that's 3 total. The reason being is that their 2-[6] Motorized Divisions flipped into Panzer Divisions, not PanzerGrenadier Divisions!

 

New Posts
  • I just ran my very first simulation using the revised "Devastating Airfields Attacks" and was only able to destroy 9 of the 22 VVS aircraft. Only kept one Stuka 'saved" for CAS, and made sure I included the +1 DV for Major Air Bomber exclusive attacks. So what am I missing that the majority of the Soviet VVS is available for July I? Why did design team go from basically crippling the VVS, to having a competent VVS in July I '41? (Second simulation was worse at 8 VVS destroyed.) Granted, the die rolls were crappy for two sets .... but this could happen, and we know how some of us like to complain about the Vassal die roller. 3rd = 14 4th = 16 5th = 12 6th = 10 I won't post more simulations, but would like to understand the thought process so I can adjust tactics and strategy accordingly, since there will be a VVS present right from the start.
  • I see the restrictions on Hungary and Romania for the Axis side, but I can't see any restrictions for USSR. Can they attack and exert ZOCs across border, etc.? Thanks.
  • Looking at the Axis Display Mat ... there is an arrow that specifically goes from the "Repair" line and turns specifically into the JU-52 Training Box. Why? Reading [353.0] it seems like the only way into that box is from the Air Mat as a transfer. Or are you saying that if the JU-52 is in the Destroyed box, I can just "repair" it for 1 FP? Also, there is an asterisk the words "1 for Major*" I can't find where the note that applies to that on the mat is. So what does that mean? Thanks! Doc